A series of changes was brought about with the establishment of the Council of Higher Education (YÖK) in 1982 and the annulment of the Foundation Law of METU:

The School of Foreign Languages (SFL) was established and the English Language Preparatory School was transformed into the Department of Basic English under the SFL.

The Humanities Department was dissolved and 3 departments emerged: the Departments of History and Philosophy, under the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, and the Foreign Language Education Department under the Faculty of Education. Freshman English Division instructors holding a PhD degree constituted the initial faculty of the Foreign Language Education Department.

The remaining English Language instructors at the Freshman Division, together with instructors of other languages (German, French etc.) constitued the faculty of the Department of Modern Languages, which became the second department under the SFL.

Most faculty who had been working as instructors (öğretim görevlisi) until then were demoted to a lower academic title (okutman), which caused great resentment.



Prepared by: Prof. Dr. Hüsnü ENGİNARLAR

Interviewees: Prof. Dr. Ayten BEAR, Doç. Dr. Joshua BEAR, Öğr. Gör. Nevin İNAL, Öğr. Gör. Naz DİNO